9/13 Owl Letter

Crested Owl - eBirdDear Ms. Cuttatree,

I’m a Lophostrix Cristata but you can just call me Crested Owl. I live in the forest that you’re going to cut down for the Uppity inn. Those trees are my home. I even have a cozy nook in a tree that is just right for my height (38 to 43cm) and weight (425 to 620 grams). Hundreds of tiny creatures live in those woods and many of them eat the food from the woods. I personally have a diet of insects and small vertebrates. I also love to spread out my (89 to 102 cm) wings and fly. Did you know that the normal amount of eggs in a clutch is 1-13. So imagine how much owls are living in those woods. If a big owl tried to cut down your home how would you feel?  In the end I hope you have learned a thing or two about how important the forest is.

Sincerely,

Crested Owl

  Sources: 

https://www.owlpages.com/owls/species.php?s=1810

https://birdsoftheworld.org/bow/species/creowl1/cur/introduction  

https://identify.whatbird.com/obj/1314/identification/Crested_Owl.aspx

 

One thought on “9/13 Owl Letter

  1. Dear Jack,
    Your blog is really nice! I really liked your owl post. I had never heard of the Crested Owl. Does it live here? On your mushroom blog, you asked what the most poisonous mushroom is. It looks like the most deadly mushroom is the Death Cap, although I don’t know if it is the most poisonous. One of the reasons that this mushroom causes so many fatalities is because it is often mistaken for an edible mushroom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *